The Blogs

Link back to the main page: Here.

Link back to the Silver October page: Here.

Blog-8 "Summer School and Basses" (7/19/2022)
Paper Crane released to a LOT of praise. I mean like i had people hyping me up everywhere, and it's really sick to see your hard work pay off like that. I'm glad that people like it, I really am. However, I myself am a bit unhappy about it for a few reasons I won't go into here, mainly stuff with the bss playing. The bass I used really sucked (as a matter of fact, it stopped working last week), and I was still learning slap bass at the time. I still am of course, but I'm better than I was by a long shot. I've been saving for a while to get a new bass, and I'm still deciding between two even though they're pretty much the same exact instrument lmao. I was lent a bass by one of my dad's friends, but I gotta get my own sooner or later. After a little break, I'm officially 2 tracks in to my newest album, which is like Paper Crane but with the jazz aspect amped up to a 101%. Theres a lot of upright stuff in there so far, which I'm really liking the sound of along with the breakbeat drums. I got ableton 11 standard as well, which means on mroe track limit, and way more stuff to mess with. (I'm slowly becoming the od of eq). The S3CO discord server has (I think) 31 members now, which is pretty sick even though a fifth of that is bots. There's little hickups here and there but it is what it is. I'm in summer school right now, which not only sucks shit but it also sucks ass. I miss out on literally all social outings and gatherings, all the good electronic shows happen too late at night, and all the good punk shows happen during weekdays. After today, I have exactly 2 days left of summer school and MAN am I ready to gtfo of here. I might make a song for Functional about how much I hate sitting in this classroom for 5 hours learning nothing ut plane geometry. I'm doing it as a bump-up class, which means that I'm getting ahead in math rather than redoing the class. Even with the benifits, it still sucks and leaves me basically no time or energy to do anything cool.
Blog-7 "Nobody Likes Post-Rock" (3/6/2022)
The album is coming along well, like really well. I'll admit that the original album name was going to be The Great Dark, but I've re-worked it into something better, you could probably call it a little more contrmporary if you wanted to. The album is officially 6 tracks long with a runtime so dar of a little over 18 minutes, and I still have a WHOLE ton of mixing and editing to do with those existing songs before I can even think about adding more. Outside of Silver October, the Functional duo's debut project is coming along well, albeit a little slowly. It's pretty much post-rock, with a little inspiration from everywhere. Post-rock is sich a cool genre to me, and I feel like a lot of the more streamline/mainstream rock fans will literally kill anything that isnt on their list of the core few rock bands. I know a lot of people IRL who are rock fans, some of them are actually really cool, talented people. However unfortunatley, a few of them are close-minded shitheads who hate anything that isnt on their golden ittle christmas nice list of music. The "golden age" of rock is long dead, beaten to a pulp and ran over in a car full of the people who worship the golden-age rock style. That kind of music, that Pink Floyd/ACDC/Led Zeppelin/The Beatles/Guns N' Roses/Queen/Nirvana/Linkin park immitation thing that a lot of modern rock guys do all sounds literally the carbon copy same to me. I've had a few people pretty close to me tell me that electronic music is ether not real music or lazy, and honestly I feel like that's just a shitty excuse for close-mindedness. Post-rock is like the savior of the mirror chamber that is rock. Unfortunatley, theres a lot of people who would have my head on a platter for saying all this stuff. If you're a normal golden-age rock fan and you let people like what they like, I love you, thank you. If you're one of those gate-keeping jerks who talks like the nerd stereotype off of disney kids shows, please blacklist this URL.
Blog-6 "The Great Dark" (2/13/2022)
Soot, NEON released to some preeeeetty good reviews from people around the internet, as well as my firends. I would like to say it went over pretty well, however looking back at it it has a lot I would really change or remove outright if I could re-do the album. I feel like even though thr whole point of the project was so that I could take my time, I still edned up rushing it and the product overall was a REALLY good album with a few, tiny flaws that really only stick out if you're looking at them. In no way do I dislike the record though, and I think Elian Charążka did super great on the cover art. My issues lie in the small things. After the release of the album, I saw myself on a sudden hard creative block. A lot of the stuff I wanted to do musically either just didnt sound right or didn't have any soul to back it. I made a little "Fuck You" to that creative block in the form of a Mr.TheKid EP. It's my first attempt at noise, and you really can tell that it's a bit of a mess. In a way, that's exactly why I love it. No complex production, no long studio sessions, no difficult mastering, just noise made with random stuff I found in my room. I feel like a lot of the Mr.TheKid projects recently have been WAY too rushed even for the whole Mr.TheKid thing. My Friend is a Clock was pretty great in my opinoin dispite it's shortcomings, but Scene:World was where I really failed as a musician. I was literally just making music to make music, to fill up time and the result is a pretty sucky EP that sounds as rushed as it is. The M.TK noise EP was kind of a way to shred every last little bit of that rush-y creative fire out of me, and it almost kinda sounds nice. I love M.TK, and I feel like it's a great alter-ego for me, and that it fits me well. I'm working on a more thurough project right now, and it's got a pretty sick album cover. It's going to be a while before that releases, however. The new Silver October album is really cool so far, I'm only three songs into it however. It's turning out so far to be a sort of new-funl post-jazz post-electronic fusion sorta thing. It's name so far is "The Great Dark", but that's likely going to change any time now. I'm starting to really enjoy making music again, and I want this new project to be a feat of audio engineering compared to my older albums. Expect a lot of recorded instruments mized with cool beats, and a lot of thurough everything. I want this to be good, and I mean good good. As one final thing, I changed the cover art to my "A Constant State of Chicago" album, as well as all the other tracks on it to the same thing. Signing off for now, Silver October.
Blog-5 "Finals, Pizza, Coffee and Boredom" (12/13/2021)
Whats popping broskis, its me. I am currently typing this up on my shitty school chromebook in my engineering class. I just finished up the final for the class, and It's the last final I have to do. Thats right! After this I'm heading to a local pizza place, getting lunch, then leaving school until winter break is over. My last final was my Japanese final and it was ass hard, 100 questons long with a listening segment. I dont have to worry about literally anything else after we get out for the day because like I said, thats the end of the semester. I recently found out that on days I have morning coffee I'll be exhausted out of my mind for the afternoon, so I'm probably going to stop drinking it so much. Kinda stupid, don't you think? The very thing meant to wake you up is putting you to sleep by the end of the day. ANyways, theres a few other kids my engineering final who are lookig at me funny because A: Who uses oldschool html anymore and B: I'm still typing even after a final.
Blog-4 "Christmas Time and Corny Noistalgia" (11/29/2021)
Man, I love christmas. Like lay awake and imagine how you'll feel waking up and seeing all those colorful boxes under a tree you helped decorate kind of love. It just gets me exited thinking about it, and I'm supposed to be grown out of christmas by now, like one of those crusty dopey older brothers from the corny christmas movies. The feeling of taking your stalking down and ploping it down and just rummaging through it is such a great feeling. I can picture it like it's happening as I type this I love the holiday that much. And the feeling of tearing through the present paper like something out of an unreleased godzilla movie, and just getting so into the feeling you almost forget that you literally have eaten nothing but the candy in your stalking and should probably eat something more... edible. My sister's birthday is tomorrow, and it's so crazy to see how big she it. I still have to remind myself that she's not 8 years old from time to time. I hope that someday she'll be into a lot of the weird music stuff I am, but I know damn well that at her age I wanted to stay as far away from all the weird music and just stick to Jazz and Orchestra. That aged poorly. Even if she never gets into it, I can't blame her, because its super fun seeing her turn into like, a full person. If you're reading this right now Hattie pretend you never saw this lmao. In other news, I've been making a bunch of wird music on my Mr.TheKid alt account, and it's proving to be a great outlet for a lot of my weirder stuff.
Blog-3 "S3CO Archives" (11/12/2021)
S3CO is my sort of "record Label". It's essentially a place for me to put all of my music under, through all of my bands, side projects, and aliases. I have quite a few seperate sound cloud accounts, and any account of mine that has S3CO in the bio is one of my projects/bands/aliases. So far this is only with Silver October, my main, BHUTHSSATOYOHAMT:TB, a joke band me and my sister made, and BHUTHSSATOYOHAMT:TB and The Official S3CO Soundcloud Page. The S3CO page is a new one I made in order to archive all the old unreleased music I made back when all I had was garage band. The first unreleased collection on the page (this) features a old version of the track NORDEGAH, a track that was meant to be on NORDIGAH but never made it "TRACK2", a weird noise experiment, a song that I cooked up really late one night, a song about a pet I once had, a song about a funeral I REALLY didn't want to go to, a random draft, and a song that was meant to be a part of a game but didn't make it. Some of the songs on the compilation are actually pretty bad, but in all honesty TRACK 2, っっっ and FA CAFDM are actually decent songs. I'm a bit of an archive freak, so seeing stuff like this all neatly put together is really fun. And if im being honest here, there is still a stupid amount of bad unreleased garage band songs that have yet to see the light of day. Who knows, maybe I'll post em some day.
Blog-2 "Old music gear" (11/6/2021)
Ever since I was in the second grade back in like, 2015, I have wanted this little piece of music gear called the "Midi Fighter SPectra". They are made by DJ TECHTOOLS, and the spectra is essentially a smaller version of the Midi Fighter 64. Overall, they are pretty cool little machines, and have a lot of strengths outside of looking cool. They have since stopped making Spectras sadly, and have been making the newer version called the Midi Fighter 3d. They have almost the same build as the spectras, only with the 3d you can tilt it to add effects. They are a lot better for Live DJing, and even so it lookis really stupid having to pick up a button pad and tilt it to get a reverb effect. Overall I think they are kind of stupid, and I personally largley prefer the spectra. They have long since stopped making spectras as I said before, yet there are still a few floating around on ebay! I'm hoping I get that for christmas, as well as some of the other music gear I've had my eye on. Old music gear has always had a place in my heart, especially with the weird ones. I'm talking those controllers they only made like 30 of bach in the 80's and they all do weird stuff, thats like the coolest thing to me. One of the main issues with that type of gear is that a lot of em are so old that they kinda dont work anymore, wich sucks but eh, theres always a way to fix broken stuff.
Blog-1 "Copyright and unreleased Albums" (10/24/2021)
I've always been a HUGE fan of rap music. I've never been one of those guys who knows textbook histories of rap, I haven't listened to all of the big and notible rappers yet, and I don't have the money for vynl collecting but regardless I've still been a fan for a long time. Some of my favorites are Childish Gambino, MF DOOM, Tyler the Creator, Lil Nas X, Earl Sweatchirt, kendrick Lamar, Kanye, and a few others. The other night I thought I should try rapping for once, and in all honesty it wasnt that horrible. I did a remix of "Lift Yourself" by Kanye, and when it came down to posting it on soundcloud it got taken down for copyright. I was'nt super mad, I probably should have known better but yet, what can you do. Not sure if theres a place I can release it, who knows. In other news, the album I released recently (SEIKI), is doing super well! I'm glad people like it, It took a LOT of trial and error to get through from the music to the cover art. (Especially the cover art.) I'm thinking of what to do for a next album,a dn honestly I've been making so much music recently I think I need a creative break haha. I think as a good way to end this off, Before NORDIGAH DELUXE existed, It was planned to be a whole seprate album rather than a deluxe version to NORDIGAH. That album's name was going to be "MACHINE", and you can find the cover art here. if you're really into unreleased music of mine, check these out! FINALLY SUNLIGHT, multii, and BRAIN FRYER are all unreleased things I had planned. FINALLY SUNLIGHT would have been an EP, multii would have been an album, and BRAIN FRYER would have been a single, really long song probably in the hardstyle genre. See you in the next blog!

©S3CO 2016-2022. When using content from this page, please add this sticker. to your site.